Becoming: a 4th wave feminist who respects her foremothers

Although I have a college education I am not an academic feminist. I just began to read women’s studies books that were not written from the political science perspective. If there are waves of feminism then I guess I am a 4th wave feminist. I respect the work done before me- but i want a matriarch guiding me in the stormy seas. I am a poor single mother, not queer, not middle class, I don’t hate men but I hate the fact that men portray women as vapid dolls, I don’t think sluttiness helps me reclaim anything and I am pretty sure that until we have a female presidential candidate that does not have the nickname “Caribou Barbie” or “Abortion Barbie”. 

Leave a Reply

